Fowler, Walin Get Softball Honors

From Staff Reports

Sheridan Fowler of Thousand Oaks High was named Southern Section Division II most valuable softball player on Tuesday.

Fowler, a third baseman who batted .451, helped lead the Lancers to their first section title. Coach Gary Walin was selected the division's coach of the year.

Twenty eight area players in six divisions were named All-Southern Section.

In Division I, first-team honors went to Lauren Watson and Tori Rocco of Valencia, and Ashlie D'Errico of Highland.

Meredith Cervenka of Crescenta Valley, Chanel Tripp of Rio Mesa, Nicole Angelo of Thousand Oaks and Kellie Cox of Quartz Hill earned Division II honors.

Katie Stokx of Newbury Park was selected in Division III.

In Division IV, Kelly Kalish of La Canada, Amanda De La Cerda of Notre Dame, Christina Lupacchini of Chaminade, Kaitlin Reiss of Alemany and Lacey Albrent of Nordhoff were selected.

Division V selections include Sara Gonzales and Heather Brown of Paraclete, Lauren Nydam and Dena DePompa of Village Christian, Melissa Johnson of Oak Park, Monica Thompson of La Reina, Lacey Smale of Flintridge Sacred Heart, Kelly Feirfeil of L.A. Baptist and Brandy Hawkins of Montclair Prep.

Division VI selections include Ashlee Freeman and Tiffany Neutil-Day of Oaks Christian, Julia Hartnell and Tiffanie Monzo of Cornerstone Christian, and Ivette Hernandez and Devina Quintero of Faith Baptist.


Lee Martin, a starting linebacker at Royal High last season as a sophomore, has transferred to St. Bonaventure.

Long-time assistant Charlie Festerling has been named coach at Camarillo, replacing Carl Thompson.

Practice begins Monday for the CaliFlorida Bowl all-star football game scheduled for June 23 at 1 p.m. at UC Santa Barbara.

Among the local participants are Tyler Ebell of Ventura, Kyle Matter of Hart, Matt Clark of Cleveland, Josh Martin of Sylmar, Mike Bonelli and Bobby Otani of St. Bonaventure and John Walker of Birmingham. St. Bonaventure's Jon Mack is coaching the California team.


Harvard-Westlake won the small schools boys' division of the Southern California Interscholastic Basketball Coaches Assn. tournament last weekend, going 5-0 and beating Littlerock, 65-50, in the championship game.

Cody Pearson, the former Notre Dame guard who was named Valley player of the year by The Times, has decided to walk on at Long Beach State instead of Pepperdine.

Uche Anyanwu, the brother of All-Mission League forward Kingsley Anyanwu, is transferring to Crespi from Taft. He's a 6-foot-2 freshman who plays basketball and football.

Crespi is seeking one more team to participate in the 16-team referee's tournament scheduled for June 27-30 at Crespi. Information: (818) 727-8200, ext. 48.


Third-seeded Lori Stern of Ojai defeated fourth-seeded Joanna Kao of Fullerton, 7-5, 6-3, in the girls' 18 division championship match of the 86th annual Santa Barbara Junior Tournament Sunday at the Municipal Tennis Center in Santa Barbara.

Kao beat Monica Wiesener of Calabasas High, 6-2, 1-6, 6-1, in the semifinals.

No. 4-seeded Sarah Fansler of Thousand Oaks defeated fifth-seeded Karina Porushkevich of Los Angeles, 6-1, 6-2, in the girls' 14 division title match.

Mindy King of Long Beach defeated Calabasas High's Celia Durkin, 6-7 (5), 6-1, 6-1, in the girls' 16 semifinals.

Boys' 14 division runner-up Shan Sondhu of Laguna Niguel eliminated Stefan McKinney of Camarillo, 6-2, 6-3, in the semifinals.

Former Agoura High standout Brooke Borisoff will attend California on a tennis scholarship. Borisoff, the Marmonte League singles champion from 1997-99, was home schooled this year and did not play for the Chargers last fall.

Track and Field

A shotput and discus clinic for athletes and coaches will be held at Moorpark High on Friday and Saturday, from 9 a.m. until 3 p.m.

Tim Adrian, a 1999 graduate of Moorpark and the Big East Conference discus champion for Syracuse this year, will be a speaker.

Information: 805-523-9060.


Amiee Peinado has been hired as women's coach at Glendale College. Peinado, an assistant at Pasadena City the last two seasons, replaces Bob Sealy.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World