Jeremiah Masoli cleared to play for Ole Miss


In another surprising twist to a monthlong saga, Mississippi quarterback Jeremiah Masoli has been cleared to play football one day before the start of the season.

Three days ago, the NCAA ruled that the former Oregon quarterback had to sit out a season after enrolling at Mississippi. But the university appealed that decision and announced Friday that the NCAA Division I Subcommittee for Legislative Relief had overturned the first ruling.

Masoli is expected to be the Rebels’ starting quarterback this season, though Coach Houston Nutt said sophomore Nathan Stanley will start against Jacksonville State on Saturday because of the short notice.

Masoli played for Oregon the last two seasons, leading the Ducks to the Rose Bowl last season. But he was kicked off Oregon’s team this summer after two run-ins with police. He pleaded guilty to a second-degree burglary charge and was also cited for misdemeanor marijuana possession.

North Carolina linebackers Quan Sturdivant and Bruce Carter have been cleared to play in the 18th-ranked Tar Heels’ opener against No. 21 Louisiana State on Saturday. Safety Deunta Williams will not play because of the continuing NCAA investigation into the program. … Georgia safety Alec Ogletree has been suspended for at least one game following a misdemeanor theft charge.

Arizona wins

Nick Foles threw for 360 yards and accounted for three touchdowns to help visiting Arizona pound Toledo, 41-2.

Foles, who completed 32 of 37 attempts, had two touchdown passes and ran for another score as the Wildcats recorded their first road victory outside the Pacific 10 Conference in nine seasons.

Nic Grigsby scored on a 36-yard run to give Arizona a 14-2 lead and again on one-yard score early in the second half. Arizona’s young defense with seven new starters held the Rockets to 16 yards rushing in the first half and 80 for the game.

Brandon McManus kicked a 43-yard field goal with three seconds left to lift Temple to a 31-24 win over defending FCS national champion Villanova.