Critics’ Choice Awards: ’12 Years a Slave’ wins for best film

It’s been a good week for “12 Years a Slave,” Steve McQueen’s unflinching portrait of slavery in the U.S. The historical drama won the Golden Globe on Sunday for dramatic film and earned nine Oscar nominations Thursday morning. And at the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards on Thursday evening, the Broadcast Film Critics Assn. named it the best film of 2013. The drama also earned awards for supporting actress for Lupita Nyong’o and adapted screenplay for John Ridley.

“Gravity” earned the night’s most wins, with a record-breaking seven trophies: best director for Alfonso Cuaron, actress in an action movie for Sandra Bullock, sci-fi/horror movie, visual effects, cinematography, score and editing, for which Cuaron shared the honor with Mark Sanger.

“American Hustle” took four awards: best comedy, comedy actress for Amy Adams, acting ensemble and makeup.

MORE: Red carpet | Show Highlights | Top nominees and winners| Complete list


Matthew McConaughey earned lead actor honors for his role in “Dallas Buyers Club,” and Cate Blanchett was named lead actress for her part in Woody Allen’s “Blue Jasmine.”

Leonardo DiCaprio received the comedy actor trophy for “The Wolf of Wall Street,” and Jared Leto received supporting actor for “Dallas Buyers Club.”

Oscar nominees Cuaron, Adams, McConaughey, Blanchett, DiCaprio and Leto all previously won Golden Globes on Sunday.

“Frozen” received the animated film honors as well as winning for top song with “Let It Go.” Spike Jonze won original screenplay for “Her.”

EXCLUSIVE VIDEO: Awards contenders talk with The Times

Box office champ “Lone Survivor” won best action movie and helped Mark Wahlberg win for actor in an action movie. France’s “Blue Is the Warmest Color” won the foreign-language film honors and a young actor/actress prize for its star Adele Exarchopoulos.

Documentary feature went to “20 Feet From Stardom,” while “The Great Gatsby” won in the art direction and costume design categories.

Forest Whitaker received the Joel Siegel Award, and Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke and Richard Linklater were the recipients of the Genius Award.


The Critics’ Choice Movie Awards were presented at the Barker Hanger in Santa Monica and telecast on CW, with Aisha Tyler as host. The Broadcast Film Critics Assn. includes more than 280 television, radio and online critics.

The last two years, the critics’ top choices - “Argo” and “The Artist” - have gone on to win the best picture Oscar.


Full coverage: Oscars 2014


Video: Envelope Screening Series

Oscars 2014: Complete list of nominees