Angels’ Mike Trout a finalist for AL MVP and rookie of the year


Angels outfielder Mike Trout is a finalist for the American League’s most valuable player and rookie of the year awards.

Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers and Jered Weaver of the Angels are finalists for the Cy Young Awards in the National League and the American League, respectively.

Members of the Baseball Writers’ Assn. of America voted for the awards. Winners will be announced next week on the MLB Network.


Trout, 21, figures to be a lock to win the AL rookie of the year award Monday over fellow finalists Yoenis Cespedes of the Oakland Athletics and Yu Darvish of the Texas Rangers. Trout’s primary competition for the MVP award will come from Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers, who was baseball’s first triple-crown winner in 45 years. Josh Hamilton and Adrian Beltre of the Texas Rangers, and Robinson Cano of the New York Yankees are the other finalists. The winner will be named Thursday.

Up for the National League’s version of the award are Buster Posey of the San Francisco Giants, Ryan Braun of the Milwaukee Brewers, Andrew McCutchen of the Pittsburgh Pirates, Yadier Molina of the St. Louis Cardinals and Chase Headley of the San Diego Padres.

Kershaw is the first Dodgers pitcher to finish in the top three in NL Cy Young voting in consecutive seasons since Fernando Valenzuela in 1981-82. The other finalists are knuckleballer R.A. Dickey of the New York Mets and Gio Gonzalez of the Washington Nationals.

Weaver, David Price of the Tampa Bay Rays and Justin Verlander of the Detroit Tigers are the AL finalists.

The Cy Young Award winners will be named Wednesday.