WSC Realignment Creates 2 Divisions for Football Teams

The Western State Conference has approved a realignment for schools competing in football that will send Ventura and Moorpark colleges to the Northern Division, joining Glendale, Santa Barbara, Harbor and L. A. Southwest.

The Southern Division will comprise Bakersfield, Compton, Pierce, Valley, Santa Monica and West L. A.

The teams will play five games against divisional rivals and four against teams from the other division, meaning that only one game will have to be scheduled against a nonconference opponent.

It is likely that the divisional winners will meet in a bowl game or under another playoff format to determine an overall champion.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World