St. Louis' Ozzie Smith Wins 10th Gold Glove

From Associated Press

St. Louis shortstop Ozzie Smith was awarded his 10th straight Gold Glove today, becoming the only major leaguer to receive the award each year this decade.

"This is the highest accomplishment a defensive player can get," said Smith, who made 17 errors in 1989.

For the first time since 1978, New York Mets first baseman Keith Hernandez did not win the Gold Glove in the NL. This year, it went to Montreal's Andres Galarraga.

Chicago's Ryne Sandberg won his seventh consecutive Gold Glove at second base, and St. Louis' Terry Pendleton was the winner at third.

The NL Gold Glove outfield was Tony Gwynn of San Diego, Eric Davis of Cincinnati and Andy Van Slyke of Pittsburgh.

San Diego catcher Benito Santiago won his second Gold Glove despite making 20 errors.

Mets right-hander Ron Darling won his first Gold Glove.

In the American League, New York Yankees first baseman Don Mattingly won his fifth straight Gold Glove. The rest of the infield had Harold Reynolds of Seattle at second, Tony Fernandez of Toronto at shortstop and Gary Gaetti of Minnesota at third.

Kansas City catcher Bob Boone won his fourth Gold Glove at age 42.

The AL outfield winners were Minnesota's Kirby Puckett, the Angels' Devon White and Detroit's Gary Pettis. Pettis, who played for the Tigers in 1989, recently signed as a free agent with Texas.

Kansas City's Bret Saberhagen was the AL's Gold Glove winner on the mound.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World