Almand, Sbarbaro Win Tourney Spots

San Diego’s Jim Almand and Poway High graduate Keith Sbarbaro emerged from the seventh annual Shearson Lehman Hutton Amateur Qualifying Tournament with sponsor exemptions for the Feb. 14-17 event at Torrey Pines.

Almand shot a 3-under-par 69 Saturday on Torrey Pines’ South Course. Sbarbaro, a sophomore at Arizona State, shot a 71, then won a playoff with Saugus’ Robert Riggins and Tempe, Arizona’s Brett Dean.

San Diego’s Phil Mickelson, two-time defending NCAA champion from Arizona State, was granted an additional sponsor exemption and did not have to compete in the qualifying tournament.



Kieishsha Garnes scored 28 points to lead San Diego State over Southern Utah, 89-46, in the Long Beach Dial Classic.

Carmelia Bloodsaw scored 17 for SDSU (3-3) while Melanie Usher scored 12 and Dee Dee Davis 11. Tameka McGlawn had eight points and 13 rebounds for the Aztecs. Liza Carrillo added nine points. SDSU led 45-18 at halftime.

Southern Utah is 0-7

Alicia Harasty scored 21 points and Shannon Abrams 15 as host Point Loma Nazarene College scored a 77-57 victory over Cal Lutheran.


Becky Wilson scored 12 for PLNC (5-2). Abrams had 10 rebounds and Harasty had nine.

Cal Lutheran is 1-4.

Host Oregon State scored a 74-58 victory over University of San Diego to win the championship game of the Oregon State Tournament in Corvallis. USD (1-4) was led by Angie Straub’s 12-point effort. Lynda Jones scored 11 and Christi English 10 for the Toreras. English, who fouled out with 1:26 remaining, led USD with six rebounds.



Forward Chris Morris, a former University of Houston player, scored 22 points to lead High Five America to a 95-87 victory over UC San Diego in an exhibition game at UCSD. Guard Deon Hunter, formerly of North Texas State, had 19 points. The Tritons (6-0) were led by senior guard Tim Rapp with 21 points. High Five America (9-10), based in San Diego, is a traveling team made up of former collegiate players who speak at halftime about the perils of drug and alcohol abuse.

Azusa Pacific scored its first victory over Christian Heritage, 77-73, in a nonconference NAIA District 3 game at Grossmont College. The loss broke the Hawks’ school-record 12-game home-court winning streak.

Matt Burns, who scored 18 points, broke a 73-73 tie with a three-point basket with 1:24 to play for Azusa Pacific (5-4). Vernaldo Butler scored 21 and Rob Meeter 20 for Christian Heritage (2-7), which has lost four in a row.

Donnie Buettner scored six points in overtime and Nathan Barker added five to give PLNC a 90-87 victory over host Whittier. The score was tied, 77-77, at the end of regulation. Buettner finished the game with 31 points and Barker ended with 13 for PLNC (4-2). Dave Hune led Whittier (2-6) with 23 points.



The Sea World Holiday Bowl named former National Football League Commissioner Pete Rozelle honorary chairman for the 1990 game, which takes place Dec. 29. The honor is awarded annually to an individual who has contributed to sports and community in a meaningful way. Rozelle was commissioner when San Diego hosted the 1988 Super Bowl.