Abdur-Rahim Is the Pac-10's Player of Year

Associated Press

California's Shareef Abdur-Rahim was named Saturday as the Pacific 10 Conference basketball player of the year, becoming the first freshman to receive the award since it was started in 1976.

Abdur-Rahim led the Pacific 10 in scoring (22.1 points a game) and was third in rebounding (8.8), tied for second in steals (2.0), sixth in blocked shots (1.3) and seventh in field-goal percentage (.525) through Thursday's games.

Abdur-Rahim is Cal's second player of the year. Jason Kidd won the award two years ago.

Also named to the all-Pacific-10 team were Toby Bailey and Charles O'Bannon of UCLA, Ben Davis and Reggie Geary of Arizona, Dion Cross and Brevin Knight of Stanford, Isaac Fontaine and Mark Hendrickson of Washington State and Mark Sanford of Washington.

Washington's Bob Bender was coach of the year. UCLA's Jelani McCoy was named to the all-freshman team.

Voting was conducted by the conference coaches.

For the Record Los Angeles Times Monday March 11, 1996 Home Edition Sports Part C Page 5 Sports Desk 1 inches; 18 words Type of Material: Correction All-Pacific 10--UCLA's J.R. Henderson was omitted from the story on the All-Pacific 10 basketball team in Sunday's editions.
Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World