Saddleback’s Vedder, Cesta Get Honors

Justin Vedder and Joe Cesta, two keys to Saddleback’s undefeated season, were selected the Mission Conference Central Division offense and defensive football players of the year by a vote of the coaches.

Vedder, a sophomore quarterback from Laguna Hills High, threw for 2,630 yards and 20 touchdowns in the regular season in which the Gauchos went 10-0. Cesta, a sophomore middle linebacker from Los Angeles Loyola High, led the team with 111 tackles.

Bill Cunerty of Saddleback was selected the coach of the year.

The team rosters:

First-team offense:

QB--Justin Vedder (Saddleback); RB--Charles Chatman (Golden West); Carvel Gardner (Fullerton); Torrence Wilson (Riverside). WR: Pete Campbell (S); Mike Ogas (Rancho Santiago). TE--Kris Fisher (RS). OL--Brad Baker (S); Tim Plewe (S), Mark Shields (Fullerton); Billy Wilson (S), Mike White (Palomar). K--Chris Diaz (F). KR--Julius Dixon (P).

First-team defense:

DL--Siisiialafia Liufau (RS); Jason Mageo (P); Gage Oetgen (S); Hank Tupuola (P). LB--Joe Cesta (S); Tony D’Amato (RS); Smitty Diecks (R); Keith Miller (P). DB--Jake Anderson (S); Tres Crayton (P); Tristan Lynch (RS); Reggie Miller (P). P--Pete Crosser (F).


Second-team offense:

QB--Matt Mitchell (RS). RB--Jermaine Gray (RS); Mark Reynosa (S); Chet Walker (OC). WR--Jon Daniels (RS); Gabe Payne (S). TE--Kwika Ordenstein (S); Ryan Schatz (F). OL--Jim Ambriz (RS); Jeremy Cohen (OC); Mike Gentile (GW); Dennis Glasby (GW); Coleman Johnson (R); Richard Tuifao (P). K--Jerry Arguello (RS). KR--Reynosa (S).

Second-team defense:

DL--Ray Gonzales (RS); Eric LaGraffe (F); Eric Lanphear (R); Keith Sutherland (S). LB--Jason Burk (P); Matt Driscoll (R); Kevin Francis (GW); Andre Pepper (R); Joe Petronis (F); Brandon Smith (S). DB--Ismael Abdullah (RS); Qahhar Burns (S); Mike Gotschall (P); Jeremy Luginbill (R); Alex Molnar (F); Craig Nosse (OC); Isaac Shipp (R) P--Arguello (RS).