It’s 100, Counting for Force

Share via
From Associated Press

John Force claimed the funny car title at the O’Reilly Spring Nationals at Baytown, Texas on Sunday, the 100th victory of his 15-year career.

Force won with a pass of 4.991 seconds at 310.20 mph, outdistancing Tommy Johnson Jr., who ran 5.170 at 288.77.

Kenny Bernstein, Mike Edwards and Craig Treble also won.

Force, 52, joins NASCAR Winston Cup drivers Richard Petty (200) and David Pearson (105) as the only drivers to earn 100 or more victories.


Bernstein won his 62nd top fuel title, covering the quarter-mile in 4.695 seconds at 319.37 mph, beating Tony Schumacher, who ran 4.900 at 304.94.

Edwards claimed his 10th pro stock victory with a pass of 6.892 seconds at 199.70 mph, just ahead of Kurt Johnson’s 6.910 at 200.77.

Treble earned his second consecutive pro stock motorcycle title with a run of 7.246 seconds at 184.37 mph, just ahead of Geno Scali’s 7.322 at 179.33.

World champion Michael Schumacher led a 1-2 Ferrari finish in Imola, Italy, to win the San Marino Grand Prix for his third victory in four races this season.

The German beat Brazilian teammate Rubens Barrichello by 17.9 seconds on Ferrari’s home circuit for the 56th victory of his career.

Ralf Schumacher, Michael’s younger brother, was third in a Williams BMW, 19.7 seconds behind the winner.


Michael Schumacher won for the fourth time at Imola, giving him 34 points in the championship standings. He is 14 ahead of his brother, who is in second place.

Michael R. DeSantis, 53, died Saturday after crashing his ministock car into a wall on the eighth lap of the Legends feature race at Wall Township (N.J.) Speedway, said Charlie Roberts, a spokesman for the track.