All-CIF honors for fall sports athletes

Two Laguna Beach High girls’ volleyball and two boys’ water polo players have earned the distinction of All-CIF Southern Section for 2015.

Senior opposite/middle blocker Cameron Dorn and senior outside hitter Katelyn Carballo were named to the All CIF-SS Division 2AA team in girls’ volleyball. Senior utility Jakob Colladay and sophomore defender Sebastian Jacobs were named to the All CIF-SS Division 3 boys’ water polo teams.

The Southern Section teams were selected by the Girls Volleyball Coaches’ Selection Committee and Southern California Water Polo Coaches’ Assn. and presented by the LA84 Foundation.


All CIF-SS Girls’ Volleyball

Division 2AA

Player of the Year: Kyra Banko, OH, Sr., Village Christian (division champion).

Coach of the Year: Brent Asuka, Village Christian.

Team: Selby Schnobrich, S, Sr., Village Christian; Meghan Lacey, OH, Sr., Village Christian; Clare Lenihan, MB, Jr., Chadwick; Courtney Bond, OH, Sr., Chadwick; Cameron Dorn, OPP, Sr., Laguna Beach; Katelyn Carballo, OH, Sr., Laguna Beach; Karly Eastley, OH, Sr., South Torrance; Yagoda Jedrzejczak, MB, Sr., Esperanza; Sarah Johnson, OH, Sr., Mayfied; Allison Martinez, OH, Soph., Westridge; Emily Sonny, MB, Sr., Arroyo Grande.

All CIF-SS Boys’ Water Polo

Division 3

Players of the Year: Hudson Rawlings, 2M, Sr., Murrieta Valley (division champion), Austin Seacrest, UT, Sr., Capistrano Valley.

Coach of the Year: Brian Lynton, Murrieta Valley.

Team: Ian Fleenor, ATT, Sr., Murrieta Valley; Casey Lynton, ATT, Jr., Murrieta Valley; Joshua Benitez, ATT, Sr., Murrieta Valley; Skylar Stanton, ATT, Sr.; Capistrano Valley; Aiden Sandhu, G, Jr., Capistrano Valley; Jakob Colladay, UT, Sr., Laguna Beach; Sebastian Jacobs, DEF, Soph.; Laguna Beach; Mario Moran, UT, Sr., Montebello; Diego Diaz, DEF/ATT, Sr., Montebello; Nick Ure, ATT, Jr., Aliso Niguel; Tommy Lotero, G, Jr., Vista Murrieta; Jacob Walker, G, Soph., Yorba Linda.

— From staff reports