Pulitzer Prizes for the Los Angeles Times

Since 1942, The Times has won 44 Pulitzer Prizes, six of which are gold medals for public service.

2016 Winner: Breaking News

The Los Angeles Times staff won the 2016 breaking news prize for its work chronicling the chaotic, fast-breaking events of Dec. 2, when Syed Rizwan Farook and Tashfeen Malik, a married Redlands couple, opened fire at a holiday potluck at the Inland Regional Center in San Bernardino.

How The Times covered the San Bernardino terrorist attack >>

San Bernardino County sheriff's deputies draw guns behind a minivan during a search for suspects involved in the mass shooting of 14 people at the Inland Regional Center in San Bernardino. (Gina Ferazzi / Los Angeles Times)

2016 Finalist: Commentary

Los Angeles Times metro columnist Steve Lopez compares the lives of the city’s declining middle-class residents to those of its growing class of super rich.

Pulitzer jurors: "For richly nuanced columns written in an elegant voice illuminating huge inequalities in wealth and opportunity in contemporary Los Angeles." Read more >>

More Times Awards

2015 Feature Writing Diana Marcum for her series exploring six communities struggling under conditions that have left 80% of the state experiencing extreme to exceptional drought.

2015 Criticism Mary McNamara for columns that ranged beyond television to examine broader cultural trends and controversies.

2011 Public Service for the exposure of corruption in the small California city of Bell where officials tapped the treasury to pay themselves exorbitant salaries, resulting in arrests and reforms.

2011 Feature Photography Awarded to Barbara Davidson for her intimate story of innocent victims trapped in the city's crossfire of deadly gang violence.

2009 Explanatory Reporting Bettina Boxall and Julie Cart for their exploration of the cost and effectiveness of attempts to combat the growing menace of wildfires across the western United States.

2007 Explanatory Reporting Kenneth R. Weiss, Usha Lee McFarling, reporters, and Rick Loomis, photographer, for their richly portrayed reports on the world's distressed oceans, telling the story in print and online, and stirring reaction among readers and officials.

2005 Public Service for a courageous, exhaustively researched series exposing deadly medical problems and racial injustice at a major public hospital.

2005 International Reporting Kim Murphy, for her eloquent, wide-ranging coverage of Russia's struggle to cope with terrorism, improve the economy and make democracy work.

2004 Breaking News Reporting for compelling and comprehensive coverage of the massive wildfires that imperiled a populated region of Southern California.

2004 National Reporting Nancy Cleeland, Abigail Goldman, Evelyn Iritani and Tyler Marshall for their engrossing examination of the tactics that have made Wal-Mart the largest company in the world with cascading effects across American towns and developing countries.

2004 Criticism Dan Neil for his one-of-a-kind reviews of automobiles, blending technical expertise with offbeat humor and astute cultural observations.

2004 Editorial Writing William Stall for his incisive editorials that analyzed California's troubled government, prescribed remedies and served as a model for addressing complex state issues.

2004 Feature Photography Carolyn Cole for her cohesive, behind-the-scenes look at the effects of civil war in Liberia, with special attention to innocent citizens caught in the conflict.

2003 National Reporting Alan Miller and Kevin Sack for "The Vertical Vision," a series on the Marines' vertical-lift Harrier aircraft.

2003 Feature Writing Sonia Nazario for "Enrique's Journey," a series on a boy's odyssey from Central America to find his mother in the U.S.

2003 Feature Photography Don Bartletti for his photos illustrating "Enrique's Journey"

2002 Feature Writing Barry Siegel for "A Father's Pain, a Judge's Duty, and a Justice Beyond Their Reach," a portrayal of how a child's fate entwined the lives of two good men haunted by their choices.

2002 Editorial Writing Alex Raksin and Bob Sipchen for a series of editorials exploring the issues and dilemmas of mentally ill people living on the streets.

2001 Investigative Reporting David Willman for his reporting on unsafe prescription drugs that had been approved by the U.S. government.

2000 Feature Writing J.R. Moehringer for tracing the harsh racial history of Gee's Bend, Ala., since the Civil War.

1999 Beat Reporting Chuck Phillips and Michael A. Hiltzik for their coverage of corruption in the entertainment industry.

1998 Breaking News Reporting for comprehensive coverage of a botched bank robbery and subsequent police shootout in North Hollywood.

1998 Feature Photography Clarence Williams for his powerful images documenting the plight of young children with parents addicted to alcohol and drugs.

1995 Spot News Reporting for the Jan. 17, 1994, coverage of the chaos and devastation in the aftermath of the Northridge earthquake.

1993 Spot News Reporting for balanced, comprehensive, penetrating coverage under deadline pressure of the second, most destructive day of the Los Angeles riots.

1991 Criticism David Shaw for his critiques of the way in which the media, including his own paper, reported the McMartin Pre-School child molestation case.

1990 Commentary Jim Murray for his sports columns.

1987 Criticism Richard Eder for his book reviews.

1987 International Reporting Michael Parks for his balanced and comprehensive coverage of South Africa.

1985 Criticism Howard Rosenberg for his television criticism.

1984 Gold Medal for Public Service for an in-depth examination of Southern California's growing Latino community by a team of editors and reporters.

1984 Editorial Cartooning Paul Conrad for his editorial cartooning during 1983.

1982 Criticism Martin Bernheimer for classical music criticism.

1978 National Reporting Gaylord Shaw for a series on unsafe structural conditions at the nation's major dams.

1976 Editorial Writing Philip P. Kerby for editorials against government secrecy and judicial censorship.

1971 Editorial Cartooning Paul Conrad for his editorial cartooning during 1970.

1969 Gold Medal for Public Service for exposing wrongdoing within the Los Angeles City Government Commissions, resulting in resignations or criminal convictions of certain members, as well as widespread reforms.

1969 International Reporting William Tuohy for his Vietnam War correspondence in 1968.

1966 Local General or Spot News Reporting for coverage of the Watts riots.

1960 Gold Medal for Public Service for a thorough, sustained and well-conceived attack on narcotics traffic and the enterprising reporting of Gene Sherman, which led to the opening of negotiations between the U.S. and Mexico to halt the flow of illegal drugs into Southern California and other border states.

1955 News Photography John L. Gaunt Jr. for a photo that is poignant and profoundly moving, titled "Tragedy by the Sea," showing a young couple standing together beside an angry sea in which only a few minutes earlier their year-old son had perished.

1946 Editorial Cartooning Bruce Russell for distinguished work as a cartoonist during 1945, as exemplified by the cartoon titled "Time to Bridge That Gulch."

1942 Gold Medal for Public Service for a successful campaign that resulted in the clarification and confirmation for all American newspapers of the right of free press as guaranteed under the Constitution.

Copyright © 2017, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World