These Three Go for No. 3

Valencia, Irvine and Los Alamitos will attempt this season to become the first Orange County high school football teams to win three consecutive Southern Section titles since the 1961-63 Brea-Olinda teams.

Brea-Olinda won 1-A championships in 1961 and ’62, and followed with a 2-A title in 1963.

Valencia, led by three-year starting linebacker Chris Draft, has won consecutive Division VI titles.

Los Alamitos won the Division III title in 1991 and shared the Division II championship with Esperanza last season.


Irvine won Division II in 1991 and Division IV last season.

Besides Brea-Olinda, three section teams have won three consecutive titles: Paso Robles (Northern titles from 1951 to 1953), Redondo Beach (major division titles from 1942 to 1944) and Temple City (4-A title in 1976, followed by two consecutive Eastern championships).

Temple City holds the section record with four consecutive titles from 1970 to 1973.