HIGH SCHOOL ROUNDUP : Skieresz, Nekota Power Agoura to Title

Junior Amy Skieresz and senior Kay Nekota of Agoura High had the two fastest times of the day to power the Chargers’ girls’ cross-country team to the Division II title in the Woodbridge Invitational in Irvine on Saturday.

Skieresz, who finished third in last year’s Kinney national cross-country championships, timed 17 minutes 22 seconds over the three-mile course. Nekota was second in 17:30 as Agoura totaled 65 points to the 93 of runner-up Santa Margarita.

It was the fourth consecutive Division II meet title for the Chargers, the three-time defending state Division I champions.

Alison Kaz (17th in 19:20), Janet Hwang (20th in 19:21) and Cathy Prater (25th in 19:27) rounded out the scoring for Agoura.


In the boys’ meet, Agoura’s John Greene won the Division II junior race with a time of 14:51 to lead the Chargers to a second-place finish behind Mater Dei, 83-120. Greene’s time was the second fastest of the day behind Mebrahtom Keflezighi of San Diego, who ran 14:30 to win the Division III seniors race.

Mike Wallace of Notre Dame (15:36) and Oswaldo Servin of Fillmore (15:39) finished second and third in the Division IV senior race.

In another cross-country meet:

Rotary West Ojai Invitational--Javier Ramirez of Nordhoff High won the boys’ small schools race with a time of 15:30 over the three-mile course at Lake Casitas.


Ramirez, a junior who finished third in last year’s Southern Section Division IV championships, turned back defending Division IV champion Dave Mitchell (15:39) of Morro Bay for the win.

Louisville junior Colleen Lavery won the small schools girls’ race with a time of 18:56, nearly a minute ahead of runner-up Kathleen Denson (19:55) of Cabrillo.


Millikan tournament--Senior hole man Ryan Flynn scored four goals to lead Harvard-Westlake to the championship with a 10-8 overtime victory over Long Beach Wilson.


Goalie Peter Kiefer recorded 11 saves in the final, 10 in Harvard’s 12-5 semifinal victory over Villa Park, to share tournament MVP honors with Pat Cochran of Wilson.

The Wolverines are 5-0.