Davidson, Dow, Lembke, Trotter Are Top Players

Brea Olinda's Lindsey Davidson and Chelsea Trotter and Ocean View's Tony Dow and Anna Lembke received player of the year accolades Wednesday, when the All-Southern Section boys' and girls' basketball teams for 1997-98 were announced.

Davidson, a junior guard, and Trotter, a sophomore forward, helped top-ranked Brea win its sixth state title. They were named Division II co-players of the year.

Lembke, a senior forward who has led the county in shooting percentage the past three seasons, was the Division III girl player of the year, and Dow, a junior guard who guided Ocean View to the section Division III-AA championship, was named the Division III boy player of the year.

The county players selected by the Southern California Interscholastic Basketball Coaches Assn.:


Boys' first team--Mike Bayer (Mater Dei), Jr. Boys' second team--Steve Scoggin (Mater Dei), So.; Mike Stowell (Capistrano Valley), Jr.; Mark Wulfemeyer (El Toro), Sr.

Girls' first team--Leah Combs (Esperanza), Sr.; Natasha Combs (Capistrano Valley), Sr.; Guiliana Mendiola (El Toro), So.; Natalie Nakase (Marina), Sr.; Colleen Turnbull (San Clemente), Jr. Girls' second team--Debby Caine (San Clemente), Jr.; Kristen Geoffrey (Los Alamitos), Sr.; Monique Matthews (Capistrano Valley), Sr.; Chanda McLeod (Marina), Jr.; Christina Patterson (Edison), Jr.; Aprile Powell (Century), Jr.


Boys' first team--Robert Abercrombie (Katella), Sr.; Jeffrey Berokoff (Sonora), Sr.; Ryan Forehan-Kelly (Santa Margarita), Sr.; Chris McMillian (Brea Olinda), Sr.; T.J. Williams (Santa Margarita), Sr. Boys' second team--Jerry Inzunza (Troy), Sr.; Steve Shea (Servite), Sr.; Mark Swain (Pacifica), Sr.

Girls' first team--Missy Bynon (Villa Park), Sr.; Lindsey Davidson (Brea Olinda), Jr.; Sarah Fister (Sonora), Jr.; Heidi Hardeman (Troy), Sr.; Veronica Johns (Troy), Fr.; Erin Kelly (Brea Olinda), Sr.; Chelsea Trotter (Brea Olinda), So. Girls' second team--Brooke Brown (Tustin), Jr.; Brandy Davis (Sonora), Fr.; Kate Ides (Brea Olinda), Sr.; Meghan O'Neill (Canyon), Jr.; Stephanie Patten (El Dorado), Sr.; Jamie Pendergast (Pacifica), Sr.; Nicole Roberts (Woodbridge), Sr.


Boys' first team--Zamiro Bennem (Magnolia), Sr.; Tony Dow (Ocean View), Jr.; Kevin Hanson (Ocean View), Sr. Boys' second team--Sam Nelson (Estancia), Sr.

Girls' first team--Sarah Belavic (Rosary), Sr.; Anna Lembke (Ocean View), Sr.


Boys' first team--Joe Ortiz (Calvary Chapel), Sr.; Jon Stoa (Whittier Christian), Jr. Boys' second team--Matt Erickson (Orange Lutheran), Sr.; Chris Sirianni (Laguna Beach), Sr.; Brett Young (Calvary Chapel), Jr.

Girls' first team--Cathy Joens (Calvary Chapel), Jr.; Cindy Oparah (Brethren Christian), Sr.; Rachael MacDonald (Brethren Christian), Sr.; Christy Ring (Calvary Chapel), Sr.


Boys' second team--Starly Alvarado (Orangewood Academy), Jr.

Girls' first team--Melissa Sands (Capistrano Valley Christian), Jr. Girls' second team--Stephanie Wu (Liberty Christian), So.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World