Collison, Roll Receive Honors

From Times Staff Reports

Darren Collison of Etiwanda and Michael Roll of Aliso Niguel Aliso Viejo have been selected the Southern Section Division I-AA and I-A boys’ basketball players of the year, respectively, by the Southern California Interscholastic Basketball Coaches Assn.

Kyle Austin of Pasadena and Bryan Harvey of Compton Dominguez shared the II-AA honor, and Mike Gerrity of Santa Ana Mater Dei was the II-A player of the year. James Keefe of Santa Margarita and Alex Stepheson of North Hollywood Harvard-Westlake were the III-AA and III-A players of the year.

Girls’ basketball players of the year included Erika Arriaran of Norco, Jasmine Dixon of Long Beach Poly and Ashlee Trebilcock of Newhall Hart in I-AA; teammates Brandi Jones-Fitzgerald and Jennifer Risper of Moreno Valley Canyon Springs shared the honor in I-A.


Other winners included Fullerton Troy teammates Rheya Neabors and Sara Yee in II-AA, and Antonye Nyingifa of Redondo and Jeanette Pohlen of Brea Olinda in II-A.

For the entire listings, go to