Following is the tentative schedule (subject to change) for the 58th annual Academy Awards presentation, to be telecast on ABC starting at 6 p.m. Monday, L.A. time.:

Revlon, a major sponsor, “presents” the Oscars.

A minute of commercials, commencing with 30 seconds on J.C. Penney diamonds.

Greeting by co-host Robin Williams.

Opening production number, “Flying Down to Oscars,” with Teri Garr, a song-and-dance re-creation of “Flying Down to Rio,” which starred Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers in their first collaboration.

Introduction of the other co-hosts, Alan Alda and Jane Fonda.

Introduction of Academy President Robert Wise.

Marsha Mason and Richard Dreyfuss will have the envelope, please, and present the Oscar for supporting actress.


Past Oscar winners for actor and actress are introduced, among them, Luise Rainer, Ginger Rogers, Joan Fontaine, Greer Garson, Olivia De Havilland, Jose Ferrer, Audrey Hepburn, Ernest Borgnine, Lee Marvin, Rod Steiger, Cliff Robertson, Jane Fonda, Ellen Burstyn, Louise Fletcher, Richard Dreyfuss, Sally Field, Meryl Streep, Robert Duvall and F. Murray Abraham.

Irene Cara performs “Here’s to the Losers,” a tribute to the famous stars whom people assume have won Oscars but really haven’t.

Molly Ringwald presents the Oscar for special visual effects.

Jim Henson and his Muppets present the Oscar for animated short film.

Audrey Hepburn presents the Oscar for costume design.

Louis Gossett Jr. presents the Oscar for documentary feature.

Teri Garr presents the Oscar for makeup.

Irene Cara presents the Oscar for sound.

Medley of three original song nominees: “Surprise, Surprise” with Greg Burge, from “A Chorus Line”; “Miss Celie’s Blues” with Tata Vega, from “The Color Purple,” and “Separate Lives” with Stephen Bishop and Mariyn Martin, from “White Nights.”

Cher presents the supporting actor Oscar.

Bob Hope presents Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award to Buddy Rogers for 50 years of service. The award is given every few years for outstanding contributions to charitable causes.

Ally Sheedy and Steve Guttenberg present the Oscar for documentary short subject.

Michael J. Fox and Rebecca DeMornay present the Oscar for art direction.

Sally Field presents an honorary Award to Paul Newman.

Michael Winslow (the walking sound effect from the “Police Academy” trilogy) presents the Oscar for sound effects editing.

Huey Lewis and the News will perform “The Power of Love,” nominated for original song from “Back to the Future.”


Quincy Jones, nominee for original score, presents an honorary Oscar for outstanding body of work to 15-time nominee Alex North, whose film scores include “Prizzi’s Honor,” “Streetcar Named Desire,” “Spartacus” and “Cleopatra.” (See interview on Page 82.)

Lionel Richie will perform “Say You, Say Me,” nominated for original song from “White Nights.”

F. Murray Abraham presents the Oscar for actress.

A Surprise: Two “unusual choices” present the Oscar for live action short.

Jon Cryer presents the Oscar for cinematography.

Howard Keel and the MGM Ladies will perform “Once a Star,” a song-and-dance tribute that features June Allyson, Leslie Caron, Marge Champion, Cyd Charisse, Kathryn Grayson, Ann Miller, Jane Powell, Debbie Reynolds, Esther Williams.

Whoopi Goldberg presents the Oscar for film editing.

Gene Kelly, Donald O’Connor and Debbie Reynolds present the Oscars for original song and original score.

Larry Gelbart presents the Oscars for screenplay and original adaptation.

Barbra Streisand presents the Oscar for director.

Jack Valenti and Norma Aleandro present the Oscar for foreign language film.

Sally Field presents the Oscar for actor.

Akira Kurosawa, Federico Fellini and Billy Wilder present the Oscar for picture of the year.