SPORTSCOPE : Big Ten Honors Former Serra Standout Moses

Former Serra High basketball standout James Moses, a guard at Iowa, was named Big Ten Conference player of the week last week.

Moses, a junior, scored 46 points in two games, including a career-high 30 in the Hawkeyes’ 79-74 loss to Illinois. Twenty eight of Moses’ points came in the second half.

Moses also scored the game-winning basket in Iowa’s 80-79 victory at Indiana.


Unable to find a buyer, owners of the Salt Lake City Sting have agreed to compete in the revamped American Professional Soccer League. Earlier it was announced that the club was suspending operations.

The Sting is the third former West Division team to merge with the East Division to form the nine-team APSL. Six East teams and eight West teams, including the Los Angeles Heat, have folded operations.

The new league plans to start operations in May. Former Palos Verdes High standout Dominic Militello, currently playing indoor soccer on the East Coast, is expected to return to play for Salt Lake.

Cary Agajanian, former president of the closed Ascot Raceway, has received the Hugh Deery award for “outstanding contributions to short track auto racing.”

Agajanian has been a featured speaker at risk management racing seminars for several years. Agajanian recently joined forces with former Ascot press agent Ben Foote to form a racing promotions firm. They are investigating the possibility of putting together a team to compete at the Indianapolis 500.

The San Pedro and Peninsula YMCA Swim Team won the Southern California YMCA Swim Championships Feb. 23-24 at the city of Commerce pool.

First place age group finishers included Deborah Kory (100 breaststroke, 100 butterfly and 200 individual medley), Claudine Martinez (200 freestyle, 100 backstroke, 100 freestyle), Roy Elliott (50, 100 and 200 freestyle), Chris McAllister (100 backstroke), Tina Leuthard (50 freestyle), Henderson Hsieh (100 breaststroke), Karin Best (100 breaststroke, 100 butterfly and 200 individual medley), Mayuko Abe (100 backstroke and 100 freestyle), Satolo Olamoto (200 freestyle), Ryan Jones (100 freestyle), Patrick Ignacio (200 freestyle, 100 freestyle and 50 backstroke), Todd Schwendinger (50 freestyle and 100 freestyle), Carlos Soto (50 backstroke, 100 individual medley) and Ryan Rykaczewski (25 breaststroke and 25 butterfly).

Nine SPPY relay teams also finished first. All races were measured in yards. The head coach was Dan Halladay. He was assisted by Mike Hamm, Mary Leite, Scott Peppard and Dane Osbourne.