Carson’s Hunter Bags Top Honor


Wendell Hunter, a running back and linebacker who helped lead Carson High to the City Section football championship, was selected City player of the year Thursday night by a panel of coaches.

Hunter, a senior, rushed for 955 yards and 15 touchdowns. He gained 53 yards in nine carries in the Colts’ 20-10 victory over Crenshaw in the championship game last Friday at the Coliseum.

Carson’s John Aguirre, who in his first year guided the Colts to their 10th title--their first since 1993--was selected coach of the year.


Thirty-eight players, not including Hunter, were selected to the All-City team. Carson placed four players on the team: offensive lineman Tyler Scott; defensive lineman Fai Satele; and linebackers Ashley Subingsubing and Michael Crowder-Jones.

Crenshaw had three players: wide receiver Terrence Whitehead, offensive lineman Walter Mebane II and defensive lineman Lee Webb.

Three quarterbacks were selected: Ruben Zaragoza of Granada Hills Kennedy; Jason Winn of Granada Hills; and Daniel Gonzalez of Franklin.