California politics news feed

Welcome to Essential Politics, our in-the-moment look at California political and government news.

Sign up for our free newsletter for analysis and more, and subscribe to the California Politics Podcast. Don't miss our Essential Politics page in Sunday's California section.

California in Congress

12 California Republicans vote to support tax overhaul for a second time; Rohrabacher and Issa say no

The House gave final approval for the GOP tax bill Wednesday, with 12 Republicans in the state delegation again voting in favor of the bill. 

Reps. Dana Rohrabacher of Costa Mesa and Darrell Issa of Vista voted no.

The House and Senate both passed the bill Tuesday, but, because Democrats raised procedural objections that forced the bill to be changed in the Senate, the House had to vote on the bill again Wednesday before sending it to President Trump for his signature.

Though many California taxpayers are expected to see an initial income tax cut under the plan, a significant number probably will have higher taxes because of the lost deductions. Analysts also expect the biggest cuts to flow to corporations and the state’s wealthiest residents.

Republicans are expected to head to the White House later Wednesday for a celebration with Trump.

No House Democrats, including the 39 from California, supported the bill. Rep. Grace Napolitano (D-Norwalk) was not present for the second vote, but she voted no on Tuesday.

See the Republican votes here:

RepresentativePartyDistrictGOP tax vote
RepresentativeKen CalvertPartyRepublicanDistrict42GOP tax voteYes
RepresentativePaul CookPartyRepublicanDistrict8GOP tax voteYes
RepresentativeJeffrey DenhamPartyRepublicanDistrict10GOP tax voteYes
RepresentativeDuncan HunterPartyRepublicanDistrict50GOP tax voteYes
RepresentativeDarrell IssaPartyRepublicanDistrict49GOP tax voteNo
RepresentativeSteve KnightPartyRepublicanDistrict25GOP tax voteYes
RepresentativeDoug LaMalfaPartyRepublicanDistrict1GOP tax voteYes
RepresentativeKevin McCarthyPartyRepublicanDistrict23GOP tax voteYes
RepresentativeTom McClintockPartyRepublicanDistrict4GOP tax voteYes
RepresentativeDevin NunesPartyRepublicanDistrict22GOP tax voteYes
RepresentativeDana RohrabacherPartyRepublicanDistrict48GOP tax voteNo
RepresentativeEdward RoycePartyRepublicanDistrict39GOP tax voteYes
RepresentativeDavid ValadaoPartyRepublicanDistrict21GOP tax voteYes
RepresentativeMimi WaltersPartyRepublicanDistrict45GOP tax voteYes

Latest updates

Copyright © 2018, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World