San Diego Roundup : Best Cyclists in Nevada, Southern California to Compete at Velodrome

Bicyclists from Southern California and Nevada will compete today and Saturday in the 1986 District Track Cycling Championships at the San Diego Velodrome.

The men's and women's kilometer race will begin tonight at 6. Sprint heats start at 8 a.m. Saturday and will include junior men's and women's heats. The men's pursuit is scheduled for noon. The sprint finals will begin at 6 p.m. Saturday for men, women and junior men.

Ken Carpenter, last year's state champion in the kilometer; Pierre Stroot, the 1985 Canadian and U.S. champion in the pursuit; and Robin Coon, second in the national sprint championship in 1985, are among the racers expected to compete.

The San Diego Velodrome is in the Morley Field area of Balboa Park, south of the tennis courts. Admission is $3 for adults; children under 12 are free. For more information, call the San Diego Velodrome at 298-1570.

Mark Meech leads the super stock car racing series after winning his second straight race last Saturday at Gillespie Field Oval at Cajon Speedway. Meech has 198 points, Mike Hagerman is second with 194 and Mark Norris is third with 170.

In the street stock series last week, Ron Doster won his first race of the season. Jerry Gay, seven-time winner, leads the series with 1,580 points, Daryl Eaton is second with 1,025 and Steve Bush is 50 points behind Eaton. Doster is in fifth place with 800 points.

Bob Jensen led the whole way in the bomber stock series last week for his first victory of the season. Paul Fletcher leads the bombers with five victories for 1,265 points.

Racing starts at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, with the three main events and the season's third destruction derby. Jim Hamilton has won the past two derbys.

Bill Walton, Eric Dickerson, Ken Norton, Rolf Benirschke, Kiki Vandeweghe and Bob Lanier headline a group of 40 athletes from 12 sports who will compete in the four-day Gordon's Gin Sports Celebrity Tennis Tournament at the La Costa Resort Hotel and Spa courts.

Play begins Monday at 10 a.m.

Each player will have six different partners daily and will play four-game sets in each match. After three days, the eight players with the most points are paired according to their standings. Four teams will play in the semifinals Thursday morning, and the two winners will play for the championship. Earl Monroe, former New York Knick star, and Reggie Theus, Sacramento King guard, won last year's event.

The San Diego Nomads, one point out of first place in the Western Soccer Alliance, play at Portland and Seattle this weekend.

On Tuesday, the Nomads (2-1-1) defeated a South Korean professional team, Hallelujah, 3-0. They have six points. The Hollywood Kickers (2-2-1) are in first place with seven points.

San Diego plays at Portland tonight and at Seattle Saturday night.

The Nomads began the season on May 18 by tying San Jose, 1-1, at Glenn Broderick Field at San Diego High School. On May 27, San Diego beat Dundee, a Scottish team, 2-1. The Nomads lost, 3-1, to Manchester, England, on June 5.

Four Nomads have been named to represent the West at the National Sports Festival in Houston, July 26 to Aug. 2. They are forwards Jeff Hooker and Paul Caligiuri, goalkeeper Jeff Duback and defender Steve Boardman. Hooker leads the Nomads with two goals.

Caligiuri will miss the festival because he has been the only American selected to play in the FIFA-UNICEF World All-Star match July 27 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena. The game will feature the top players from North and South America competing against the best soccer players from the rest of the world.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World