Football: Officials admit error in Santa Margarita-Bishop Gorman game
The referee for last week’s Santa Margarita-Bishop Gorman football game has sent an email apologizing to Coach Harry Welch for a blown call in Santa Margarita’s 34-31 double overtime loss.
A 24-yard pass to Grant Clancy in the first overtime was signaled a touchdown by one offical but ruled incomplete by another as he lost control crossing the goal line. Santa Margarita later missed a field goal. Additional video indicated it should have been a touchdown.
In the email, Bob Yoakum wrote, “On behalf of my crew, we apologize to your team, coaching staff and the SMCC community for this incorrect call. I take full responsibility for this mistake. My crew should have been in the right spot to make the correct call. We will use this as a learning experience.”
Welch said of the email, “It takes a strong man to admit a mistake. I am most impressed with Mr. Yoakum, especially since my mistakes are too numerous to calculate.”
Go beyond the scoreboard
Get the latest on L.A.'s teams in the daily Sports Report newsletter.
You may occasionally receive promotional content from the Los Angeles Times.