Diana Taurasi ties Lisa Leslie with eighth All-WNBA selection

Phoenix Mercury guard Diana Taurasi averaged 20.3 points and 6.2 assists this season.
(Danny Moloshok / Associated Press)

Diana Taurasi, who has led the Phoenix Mercury to the Western Conference finals, has been selected to the All-WNBA team for the eighth time, tying the record of former Sparks star Lisa Leslie.

Joining Taurasi on the All-WNBA first team are league MVP Candace Parker of the Sparks and Maya Moore of the Minnesota Lynx at forward, Lindsay Whalen of Minnesota at guard and Sylvia Fowles of the Chicago Sky at center.

The team was chosen by a panel of media members.

Taurasi has averaged 20.3 points, 6.2 assists and 4.2 rebounds in 32.3 minutes a game this season. She shot 45.6% from the field, including 34.5% from three-point range, and 85.4% from the free-throw line.


In her 10-year career, Taurasi has averaged 20.5 points, 4.2 assists and 4.2 rebounds a game.

Selected to the All-WNBA second team were forward Elena Delle Donne, the rookie of the year from Chicago, forward Tamika Catchings of the Indiana Fever, center Tina Charles of the Connecticut Sun, guard Angel McCoughtry of the Atlanta Dream and guard Seimone Augustus of Minnesota.


Lamar Odom breaks silence to defend Kardashians

Report: Buccaneers will bench quarterback Josh Freeman

Kevin Durant’s comment on Dwyane Wade sparks social media feud