Geno Hall named City Section football player of the year

Geno Hall, the most versatile and feared player for Crenshaw High’s 14-1 football team, has been selected the City Section player of the year by a panel of sportswriters.

He heads the All-City team after scoring six touchdowns on punts and kickoff returns, eight on receptions and one rushing. He started at receiver, where he caught 50 passes, and also played defensive back for a Cougars team that won the City Section Division I championship and became the first City team selected for a CIF state championship bowl game.

Here’s the All-City team.

First-team offense

Quarterback: Chad Dashnaw, Narbonne, Sr.; Torey Whitfield, Hamilton, Jr.; Deshawn Beck, L.A. Jordan, Sr. Running back: Kevin Ervin, Poly, Jr.; D.J. Morgan, Taft, Sr.; Ra’Shon Harper, El Camino Real, Sr.; Preston Oliver, Marshall, Sr.; Melvin Davis, Narbonne, Sr.; Antonio Bray, Arleta, Sr.

Wide receiver: Geno Hall, Crenshaw, Sr.; Tevin Carter, Santee, Sr.; Donnie Duncan, Hamilton, Sr. Offensive line: Corey Robinson, Crenshaw, Sr.; Shannon Penn, Crenshaw, Sr.; Wade Yandall, Carson, Sr.; Markus Strauss, Dorsey, Sr.; Sean Rivers, Locke, Sr. Kicker: Juan Sanchez, Carson, Sr.

First-team defense

Defensive line: James Brock, Crenshaw, Jr.; Brent Williams, Taft, Sr.; Deandre Roberts, Sylmar, Sr.; Moses Saucedo, Garfield, Jr. Linebacker: Hayes Pullard, Crenshaw, Sr.; Ronald Stovall, Crenshaw, Sr.; Patrick Wooten, L.A. Jordan, So.; Jonathan McNeal, Venice, Sr.; Julian Evans, Taft, Sr.; Kris Bass, San Pedro, Jr.; Daniel Torres, Carson, Sr. Defensive backs: De’Anthony Thomas, Crenshaw, Jr.; Geoffrey Norwood, Crenshaw, Sr.; Charles Garrett, Dorsey, Sr.; Sean Parker, Narbonne, Sr.; Bryan Douglas, Narbonne, Sr.; Lucky Radley, Taft, Sr. Punter: Donald Jarrin, San Pedro, Sr.