Traditional Powers Head Finals


After a one-year hiatus, the Southern Section baseball finals return to Anaheim Stadium on Saturday with a quadruple-header.

Blair Field in Long Beach will host the Division V and VI finals on Friday. A look at the matchups:

Division I, Long Beach Millikan (24-6) vs. Anaheim Esperanza (24-5): Traditional power Millikan is making its first championship-game appearance since winning titles in 1991 and ’92. Esperanza, eliminated in the first round of the playoffs last season, is coming off a 6-1 victory over defending champion La Puente Bishop Amat.

Division II, La Mirada (19-10) vs. La Verne Damien (23-6): La Mirada, which won the Division III title last season, upset top-seeded Placentia El Dorado in the second round and has been on a roll ever since. Unseeded Damien got 16 hits in a 16-3 upset of West Torrance.


Division III: Anaheim Canyon (24-6) vs. Lakewood Artesia (23-5): Canyon pitcher Mike Tomarelli improved to 8-0 after leading the Comanches to a 5-1 victory over top-seeded West Hills Chaminade on Tuesday. Artesia is playing in its first final since 1986.

Division IV: West Covina South Hills (22-7) vs. San Luis Obispo (22-7): Sophomore Edgar Ortiz hit a home run in the bottom of the 10th inning Tuesday to give South Hills a 3-2 victory over Anaheim Magnolia. South Hills beat San Luis Obispo in the Division 4-A final in 1990.

Division V: Santa Maria St. Joseph (28-0) vs. Cypress Brethren Christian (22-7): St. Joseph remains the only undefeated team in the playoffs. The top-seeded Knights have outscored playoff opponents, 41-4.

Division VI: Hesperia Christian (15-11) vs. Colton Christian Center Academy (14-8): Neither school has won a baseball title.



Southern Section Championship Matchups


At Anaheim Stadium, Saturday

Division I: Millikan vs. Esperanza, 7:30 p.m.; Division II: La Mirada vs. Damien, 4:30 p.m.; Division III: Anaheim Canyon vs. Artesia, 1 p.m.; Division IV: San Luis Obispo vs. South Hills, 10 a.m.

At Long Beach Blair Field, Friday

Division V: Santa Maria St. Joseph vs. Brethren Christian, 7:30 p.m.; Division VI: Hesperia Christian vs. Christian Center Academy, 4:30 p.m.



At Lakewood Mayfair Park, Saturday

Division I: Foothill vs. Upland, 7:30 p.m.; Division III: Pacifica vs. St. Lucy’s, 5 p.m.; Division IV: St. Paul vs. South Hills, 1:30 p.m.; Division VI: Linfield vs. Boron, 11:30 a.m.

At Lakewood Mayfair Park, Friday

Division II: Woodbridge vs. Righetti, 7:30 p.m.; Division V: Paraclete vs. Santa Ana Calvary Chapel, 5 p.m.