High School Sports

Boys’ basketball: Seven winners named for John R. Wooden Award

 Seven players have been selected as John R. Wooden Award winners for high school basketball as players of the year.

They are Westchester’s Elijah Stewart (City Section); Mater Dei’s Stanley Johnson (Division I); St. John Bosco’s Daniel Hamilton (Division II); Chaminade’s Jack Williams (Division III); Bishop Montgomery’s Justin Bibbins (Division IV); San Gabriel Academy’s Marcus LoVett Jr. (Division V), and Trinity Classical Academy’s Ryan Brooks (Division VI).

They will be presented their awards on April 11 at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.




Get our daily Sports Report newsletter